Resources for Youth

The following are resources and websites to assist you in your ministry with young people and the adults who work with them. This is by no means an exhaustive list. If you have a website or resource to share, please send it to us at: kblankman@pbyofnewcovenant.org.

PCUSA Youth Ministry

Presbyterian Church (USA), Ministries with Youth:
www.pcusa.org/youthministry/pyc.htm   
gamc.pcusa.org/ministries/youthministry
Presbyterian Youth Workers' Association: www.pywa.org

General Resources: Journals, Magazines, Leadership Guides

Cokesbury (“I Lead Youth”): www.ileadyouth.com
Creating Safe Churches: www.pcusa.org/sexualmisconduct
Dare 2 Share Youth Resources: www.dare2share.org
Exemplary Youth Ministry Project: www.exemplarym.org
Faith Factors: www.faithfactors.com
Group Magazine: www.groupmag.com
IDEAS! Magazine (free resource for church leaders and educators from PCUSA): http://gamc.pcusa.org/ministries/curriculum/ideas-magazine
Insight (reflections and resources on youth ministry): http://insight.typepad.co.uk/insight/
Opening Doors to Disciples: http://openingdoorstodiscipleship.com   
Youth and Religion: www.youthandreligion.org
Youth Specialties: www.youthspecialties.com
Youthworker Journal: www.youthspecialties.com/articles

Consulting and Coaching

Youth Ministry Architects: www.ymarchitects.com

Presbyterian Camps & Conferences

Cho-Yeh Camp & Conference Center: www.cho-yeh.org
Synod Youth Workshop: www.synodyouthworkshop.com
Presbyterian Mo-Ranch Conference Center: www.moranch.com
Montreat Conference Center: www.montreat.org
Presbyterian Triennium: http://presbyterianyouthtriennium.org

Vocational Discernment Programs

Pittsburgh Seminary Summer Youth Institute: www.summeryouthinstitute.org
Project Burning Bush (Union Seminary/Presbyterian School of Christian Education): www.projectburningbush.org

Spirituality

Houston Cursillo “Celebration”: http://houstonareacelebration.com/default.html (Christian Youth Retreat for High schoolers led by High schoolers)
Way to Live: www.waytolive.org
The Youth Ministry and Spirituality Project: www.ymsp.org
Rejesus: www.rejesus.co.uk
The Way of Christ: www.methodx.org
d365-Daily Devotions: www.d365.org
Practicing the Faith: www.practicingourfaith.org

Curriculum

PCUSA – Youth Curriculum: gamc.pcusa.org/ministries/curriculum/youth-curriculum (“We Believe” for Younger Youth; “FAQ” for Junior High; “Faith Questions” for Senior High; Confirmation Curriculum; Bible and Church History survey courses)
Mission Stories for Youth & Adults (We Believe series): gamc.pcusa.org/ministries/curriculum/mission-stories
The Thoughtful Christian: thethoughtfulchristian.com (downloadable resources and lessons for Sunday school and youth group)
Cokesbury: www.cokesbury.com/forms/curriculum.aspx?lvl=Youth  
Youth Specialties: www.youthspecialties.com/shop/products/curriculum
Faith Alive (Reformed Curriculum): www.faithaliveresources.org/TabCenter/Tab/2/Youth.aspx
Abingdon Press (Youth Resources): www.abingdonpress.com/forms/classroom.aspx?category=25B5D7A6-0292-11DE-9F37-6FBA56D89593
Group: group.com/youth-ministry
Logos Ministry: www.thelogosministry.org

Lectionary-based curriculum:
Feasting on the Word: www.feastingontheword.net/Pages/Item/1444/Curriculum.aspx
Living the Good News: www.livingthegoodnews.com

Confirmation:
PCUSA Confirmation course: gamc.pcusa.org/ministries/curriculum/confirmation-and-survey-courses
Faith Guides: shop.faithguides.com/onlinestore/store.html?cid=130301

Bible Study

DISCIPLE Series: Becoming Disciples through Bible Study – Youth Edition: www.cokesbury.com/forms/DynamicContent.aspx?pageid=204&id=17
God’s Yellow Pages: www.divinepeace.com/yellow/Gods_Yellow_Pages.html
Bible Trivia, Quiz, & Puzzles:
www.christianity.com/trivia
www.biblestudygames.com/biblegames/trivia
www.ehow.com/info_8063963_youth-bible-trivia-games.html
www.youthwork-practice.com/programs-youth-group-meetings/bible-quiz.html
Make Your Own Bible Board Game: www.mssscrafts.com/games/biblegame.htm

Fellowship and Activities

Energizers: www.pcusa.org/youthministry/pyc/energizers
Fun and Games: www.funandgames.org
Build Your Own Jeopardy: www.wolfescience.com/byojeopardy
Recreation Express – online game catalogue: www.recreationexpress.com

Ministry and Media

Hollywood Jesus: www.hollywoodjesus.com
Christianity Today (movies): www.christianitytoday.com/movies
GodTube (Christian videos): www.godtube.com

Family Ministry

Family-based Youth Ministry: www.familybasedym.com
Youth and Family Institute: www.youthandfamilyinstitute.org
Milestones Ministry: www.youthandfamilyinstitute.org/milestones_ministry.html (marking milestones in the faith journey of children and youth; church manual and conference event)

Mission Opportunities

Local

Mission Trips

**This is by no means an exhaustive list. It is a place to start. Please contact me for additional opportunities.**

Topical

Body Image:
Dove Self-Esteem workshops for young girls: www.dove.us/Social-Mission/Self-Esteem-Toolkit-And-Resources/default.aspx

Bullying:
Stop Bullying (information, videos, lessons, etc.): www.stopbullying.gov
Burst: Bullies & Mean Girls (Bible Study): www.abingdonpress.com/forms/ProductDetail.aspx?pid=6347

INformed Adolescent Development Resources:

www.informedteens.org/INformed/index2 (new online resource providing biblically based and relevant materials pertaining to challenging topics facing today’s youth)

Sex Ed:
PCUSA: “God’s Gift of Sexuality: A Study for Young People in the Reformed Tradition in the Presbyterian Church”.  Leader’s guide, parent’s guide, and student workbook can be found in our presbytery resource center or online at amazon.com  

Let’s Be Real (for Older Youth): www.cokesbury.com/forms/curriculum.aspx?lvl=Youth&lnb=Curriculum&catname=Sexuality+Studies&subcatname=Youth

Created By God (for PreTeens & Younger Youth): www.cokesbury.com/forms/curriculum.aspx?lvl=Children&lnb=Curriculum&catname=Sexuality+Studies&subcatname=Children

Presbyterian Colleges and Universities

Association of Presbyterian Colleges and Universities: www.apcu.net
Austin College: www.austincollege.edu (has leadership program “Activators”)
Lyon College: www.lyon.edu
The University of the Ozarks: www.ozarks.edu
Schreiner University:www.schreiner.edu
Trinity University: www.trinity.edu
University of Tulsa: www.utulsa.edu (has a leadership program)
Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary: www.austinseminary.edu

Tools for doing ministry

Online surveys: www.surveymonkey.com
Posters & Banners: www.shortrunposters.com

Background Checks

Screen Now: www.screennow.com
Screen Staff: www.screenstaff.com
Intellicorp: www.IntelliCorp.net

Church Volunteer Central (associated with Group): www.churchvolunteercentral.com

Contacts

Rev. Kristi Click-Blankman
Coordinator for Youth Ministry
Presbytery of New Covenant
kblankman@pbyofnewcovenant.org
713-526-2585, ext. 231

Camp Cho-Yeh
www.cho-yeh.org

PCUSA Youth Ministry & Staff Contact
gamc.pcusa.org/ministries/youthministry

Gina Yeager-Buckley, Ministries with Youth Associate
(800) 728-7228
gina.yeager@pcusa.org
100 Witherspoon Street
Louisville, KY 40202

TOP